Life on the Farm: Interview with Jodi Harris

Last week, you guys had the privilege of getting to know Jenni Harris. Today, I want to introduce to all of you, Jodi Harris Benoit. She’s the fifth generation of the farm, little sister to Jenni, and our Tourism Manager. She graduated from Valdosta State University in 2012, fulfilled her year off the farm with a local trucking company, and thankfully, made her way back home! Although she has only been here since January 2014, she has already learned what it takes to keep this farm running, and willingly wears many different hats. When she isn’t planning workshops for our wonderful friends and customers, making sure the cabins are ready for our guests or taking a stroll on one of our 3 horses, you can typically find her helping her husband, John Benoit, in the pastures. John just happens to be the Livestock Manager. It’s a true family business, I tell ya!

Everyone, meet Jodi…

1. What brought you back to the farm?

My family brought me back to the farm.. I never intended to live anywhere else.

2. What’s it like working with your dad, older sister, husband and sister-in-law?

It’s the best thing in the world to be surrounded by my family everyday. I never dread coming to work. Doing what we love to do together is such a blessing.

3. What’s your biggest accomplishment since starting here a year ago?

Dad was a bit reluctant, but we purchased 4 cabins and renovated the pond house on the farm. This has been my dream since the beginning of White Oak Pastures. My parents lived in the pond house right after they married in 1977. I’m so glad we were able to fix it up and let our friends enjoy such a special and secluded spot on the farm.

4. What are your goals for the next year? Professional and personal?

I would love for us to start renovation on the old Herman Bass Store in Bluffton. We bought it in 2013, but with all the other renovations going on around the farm, we had to add it to a growing list of to-do’s. My long term goal is to outgrow our cabin capacity. I don’t mind begging dad to build a nice lodge one bit! 🙂

5. What’s your favorite meal at The Pavilion?

Beef Tongue Tacos! Don’t knock it ’til you try it!

6. What’s the best…and worst…part of living in Bluffton, GA? The best part – being close to my family and the farm. The worst part – I’ll let you know if I find something that isn’t pleasant.

7. We have 10 different species on the farm. Which is your favorite?

Oh, how I am enjoying our baby goats, but like a true Harris, I’ll always be a beef girl.

8. What do you like to do when you aren’t planning farm events, booking cabins, answering phones or greeting customers?

Riding my horses and spending time with my John Boy!

9. Choose one word to describe White Oak Pastures.

Diverse

10. If you didn’t work at the farm, where would you be?

I hope I never have to find out…

Categories: Staff Spotlight | Tags: , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

